Saints Baseball



Team: Dassel-Cokato Saints

Manager: Mark Forsman

Year coaching this team: 30th

Assistant coaches: Jeff Neutzling, Brett Johnson

Division: North Star League Central— Howard Lake, Rockford, Maple Lake, Delano, Hutchinson, Loretto, Mound, Maple Plain, Buffalo, Cokato, and Montrose.

State Tournaments: 22 — 1968-B Champion, 1970, 1972, 1973-2nd, 1974-3rd, 1975, 1976-2nd, 1978, 1991, 1992-C 3rd, 1993-C 2nd, 1997, 1998, 1999, 2000, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2011.

Hall of Famers: NSL — Joe Harmala (1993); Art Hagen (1996); Bob Erickson (1998); Robert Regal (2000); Paul Servin (2002); Dean Gayner (2005); Dale Isaacson (2007); Dave Burns and Brian “Bookie” Larson (2009); Mark Forsman (2010); Kevin Nelson (2011); Jeff Neutzling (2012); John Riewer (2013). Posthumous: Clay Calgren, Stuart Brodin, Lem Norden, Fisk Peterson. MN Amateur Baseball – Joe Harmala (2002); Brian “Bookie” Larson (2005); Mark Forsman (2014).

2015 finish: The Saints battled key injuries throughout the 2015 season, and finished with a record of 16-20, 9-13 in the North Star League.

The Saints defeated Buffalo in the first round of the NSL playoffs, 8-7, but lost to Maple Plain 5-1 in the second round to see their season come to an end.

John Hohenstein led the team with a .277 batting average in 2015, including a team-high 21 runs, and 21 stolen bases. Hohenstein is the all-time stolen bases leader in Saints history.

Brendon Opsahl led the squad in home runs (2), walks (23), and RBIs (20).

Jordan Flick led the team in wins (4), and ERA (3.63)

Teams to beat: The team to beat in the NSL this season  (2016) will be the Howard Lake Orphans, who made it to the semifinals of the 2016 state tournament.

They will be followed closely by the Saints, Loretto, Buffalo, and Maple Plain. Winning in the playoffs will come down to who has the best pitching staff that can perform.

Key returning players: The Saints have a strong staff of pitchers, led by Jordan Flick, Kyle Kacmzarek, Tyler Zweibohmer, Eric Hanson, and Jordan Danielson.

On the offensive side, providing offense is leadoff hitter John Hohenstein, along with Brendon Opsahl, Andy Haataja, Trent Thinesen, Lucas Larson, Karsen Forsman, and Mitch Kurtzweg.