Cokato City Government

Serving the City of Cokato are Council Member Jarod Sebring, Council Member Carl Harju, Mayor Gordy Erickson, Council Member Phil Martinson, and Council Member Kevin Wilson.

Updated July 2022

City offices
Cokato City Hall is located at 255 Broadway Avenue South. Mailing address is PO Box 1030, Cokato, MN 55321-1030. The website is
Office Hours: Monday through Friday, 8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.
City staff: Administration–Brad Potter, city administrator; Megan Gustafson – city clerk/treasurer; Teresa Martinson, deputy clerk; Museum–Johanna Ellison, director; Rachel Olson, assistant director; public works–Jeff DeGrote, director; Steve Luhman, Max Anderson, Jason Kalis, and Jeff Salmela, maintenance workers. Great River Regional Library Cokato Branch–Nicole Wilson, library services coordinator.

City council members
The Cokato City Council is comprised of Mayor Gordy Erickson, 320-286-2735; Carl Harju, 763-300-1481, Phil Martinson, 320-286-2940; Jarod Sebring, 320-224-2848, and Kevin Wilson, 320-420-4967.
City council meetings take place the second Monday of each month at 7 p.m. at city hall, and also at other designated times as needed to carry out the business of the city.
The city council encourages residents to address the council regarding issues or concerns. The issues are generally researched by the staff and a report made to the city council at its next regular meeting.
The staff implements policies established by the city council and coordinates all city activities. The various commissions, committees, and task forces appointed by the city council act as advisory sources to the council.
Any resident interested in serving on a board, commission, committee, or task force should contact the city administrator at 320-286-5505 for further information.

City appointments
Official newspaper–Enterprise Dispatch
Cokato Fire Chief–Hutch Erickson
Ambulance Director–David Nyquist
Wright County Sheriff– Sean Deringer

Parks commission
The general purpose of the parks commission is to monitor and reflect the attitudes and concerns of the citizens of Cokato relative to the park system, and also to advise the city council of public attitudes and policy relevant to park and recreation functions in Cokato.
Commission members are Joe Harmala, chair; Carl Harju, council liaison; Tim Dobmeier, Deb Hendrickson, and Glen Worden.
Planning and zoning commission
The planning and zoning commission is the planning agency for the City of Cokato, and has powers and duties as provided in Minnesota state statutes. The commission hosts public hearings as required in the Cokato Zoning Ordinance, Subdivision Ordinance, and Minnesota state statutes.
Commission members are: Kevin Wilson, council liaison; Glen Worden, Hutch Erickson, Mike Lhotka, and Kelvin Nelson, chair.

Public right-of-way
The city provides boulevards and easements for the use of all public utilities, including water, sewer, power, telephone, cable, storm sewer, street signs, and others. Within that boulevard and easement area, there is always a chance that underground utilities may need to be repaired or replaced. Property owners should be aware and keep any landscaping or obstructions out of the public right-of-way.

Winter parking
As in every Minnesota city, Cokato has an ordinance which regulates the parking of vehicles during the winter months. There is no parking on city streets from 2 to 6 a.m., Nov. 15 through April 15.

Snowmobile ordinance
The City of Cokato snowmobile ordinance limits snowmobiles to one trip out of town, and one trip into town only. No snowmobiling is allowed in the city from 11 p.m. to 7 a.m. For specifics, contact city hall.

All areas of the city are zoned for specific land uses, regulated by Cokato subdivision and zoning ordinances. Local, state, and federal regulations apply to all land alteration, construction, and/or structures within city limits.
Before planning a building, business (home occupation or otherwise), land development, sign, or other activity, contact the city offices to ensure that all requirements and regulations are met.

Building permits
The city has adopted the state building code. Under the code, a building permit is required for any improvement (new, repair, remodel, or replacement) projects. The valuation factors in labor, whether done by a contractor or yourself. All applications, instructions, and questions should be directed to the city offices. Fees have been established by the city council. The permit is required prior to beginning any work.

The city has adopted ordinances governing excavation for the safety of its residents. Contact city hall for an excavation permit prior to any digging. Residents should also call for locates by dialing 811 prior to digging.

Refuse pickup/recycling
The City of Cokato contracts with Waste Management for refuse and recycling pickup. Residents should have cans at curbside Fridays by 7 a.m. The city also conducts an annual cleanup day in the spring.

Household hazardous waste
Items such as paint, acids, pesticides, and aerosol cans should be brought to the Wright County Compost Facility. Call 763-682-7338 for more information.

Water and sewer service
Water and sewer customers are billed by the City of Cokato on a monthly basis. Utility bills are sent about the 12th of each month and are due the last day of the month. Residents can make arrangement to pay online or by credit card through the city’s vendor, PSN. Check Cokato’s website for link or phone contact. Residents can also pay in person at city hall, by mail, or by depositing payment in the utility drop box on the south side of city hall entrance.
Water service can be terminated if account is unpaid.
A video inspection of the sanitary and stormwater sewer connections by a licensed plumber is required at point-of- sale or transfer of property, and corrections must be made or escrowed for at closing. Owners are responsible for costs of any service line repairs, leaks or replacement up to the sewer main. Should the water line need to be replaced, it is the owner’s responsibility to pay for repairs from the curb stop to the home. A reminder: small drips from a water line can result in higher water bills.
The city makes every effort to notify affected property owners, either by phone or notice placed inside the front door, when there is an emergency repair or water shut off. Personnel do their best to complete the work as quickly as possible. Contact city hall at 320-286-5505 prior to moving out/in so to have billing transferred in/out of an account.

Other Utilities
Electricity: Xcel Energy, 800-895-4999 and Wright-Hennepin Electric Co-op 763-477-3000.
Gas: CenterPoint, 800-245-2377.
Telephone: Century Link, 800-788-3500 or Charter/Spectrum, 833-780-1880.
Cable television: Charter Communications, 800-581-0081; Channel 12 is the local public access channel in Cokato.
Post Office: The Cokato Post Office is located at 190 Third Street SE. Window hours are Monday through Friday, 8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m., and Saturday, 8 to 9:15 a.m. Lobby hours are Monday through Friday, 6 a.m. to 8 p.m.; Saturday, 6 a.m. to 6 p.m., and closed on Sunday and holidays.

Energy assistance
Contact Wright County Government Center at 800-362-3667, or Wright County Community Action Agency 320 963-6500.